More Than a Marriage by Amy Lillard

Such a wonderful novella. I had to finish right away. I loved Tess and Jacob. This shows that no matter who you are you need to communicate. Always have to keep this in mind. I cried many times throughout this book. I received an ebook copy of this from the author for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.

In the close-knit Amish community of Wells Landing, Oklahoma, a women’s quilting circle welcomes a new member who is struggling to keep her marriage together—or let it go . . .
Quiet and unassuming Tess Smiley is new to Wells Landing. She is also newly married to Jacob Smiley. But already she is finding that married life isn’t the gentle union of contented devotion she had envisioned. Rather, the old-fashioned qualities that had endeared her to Jacob have become a source of inner confusion. As his father did with his wife, Jacob has begun treating Tess like a servant, taking her for granted, no longer surprising her with little presents. And once he began his job at the Englisch shed company, he has become more interested in his company smartphone than in spending time with Tess . . .
Jacob can’t see what Tess is upset about and continues his boorish ways, ignoring her pleas to attend marriage classes. Tess loves Jacob with all her heart, but it’s her heart that tells her she must take a stand. With surprising determination, she asks for help from her new community and is welcomed into the home of her friend Clara Rose and her husband Obie. Only then does Jacob begin to see how deeply his behavior has hurt Tess. But is he too late? He may be contrite, but he will need to show much more than that to win her love all over again . . . 
Praise for Amy Lillard
“An inspirational story of romance, faith, and trust . . . will appeal to fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis.” —Library Journal on Caroline’s Secret
“A beautifully written romance with an adoring character. Lillard writes stories readers can relate to.” —RT Book Reviews on Just Plain Sadie

Advertisements

Policed by Alana Terry

This book had racial profiling and can be hard to read about. It is a sad world we live in when that happens. Kennedy and her friend have a very hard time after they are accused of trying to hurt a policeman when he pulls them over for no reason. Many things happen during this book and there are twists and turns. I received an ebook copy for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.


When Kennedy Stern and her best friend Reuben drag themselves away from their grueling studies to enjoy a night off campus, getting pulled over by a belligerent cop isn’t in either of their plans. 

When the police altercation turns violent, the media notes Reuben’s dark skin and labels this instance of police brutality a hate crime. Those Kennedy trusts the most warn her not to get involved, but she owes it to Reuben to pursue justice regardless of the personal cost. 

Nothing remains a secret when a frenzied media and an embarrassed police department delve into Kennedy’s and Reuben’s backgrounds. Some truths, unfortunately, grow increasingly more painful the closer they get to the surface.

Amish Weddings by Leslie Gould

I loved this book. Rose is such a great character. She thinks at first she wants to wed Reuben until her sister is injured and she must take care of her. Now she wants to spread her wings and have a rumspringa. She meets Trevor who is an Englisher and she wants to begin flirting to make Reuben jealous. How will this work out for Rose? I also really like Lila and Zane. Can they still marry even though Lila gets badly hurt in an accident. This book was very hard to put down because I had to see how each of these storylines developed. I received this book from Bethany House for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own  free will.Gould’s Series Concludes in Love and Marriage Gregarious Rose Lehman, who’s always the life of the Amish youth singings, is determined to marry the bishop’s son, Reuben Byler–until the handsome Army buddy of her future brother-in-law shows up in Lancaster County. In comparison to Trevor, Reuben seems downright boring. Trevor shares Rose’s sense of fun and adventure, and her easygoing disposition. When her sister Lila’s buggy is rear-ended and Lila is horribly injured, Rose finds herself with more freedom than she’s ever experienced. Everyone is so concerned about Lila that no one realizes Rose is sneaking out with Trevor. Except for Reuben. But in his usual passive way, he doesn’t confront her, nor does he address the situation with her Dat or anyone else in the district. Rose appreciates Reuben’s discretion, but she also resents it. Part of her relishes the freedom she’s found with Trevor, but the other part of her wishes Reuben would “fight” for her, as much as any Amish man would. Too late, she realizes the foolish choice she’s made. Has she ruined her best chance at love, or is there another path to happiness she just hasn’t seen yet?

Godrunner by Will Hart

This book had some really good ideas on how to run towards God. Some of the stories the author tells are interesting. I received this book from Bookfun.org for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.

Will Hart has already lived this book. He’s been in hot pursuit of God since he was a teenager—whether conducting crusades and conferences, ministering on the streets, praying for schoolchildren, preaching to young adults, or disrupting demonic strongholds, Will Hart is “the donkey God rides in on” and his collection of miracle stories keeps growing.

Racing the Devil by Charles Todd

This has been my favorite in this series for a while. I love how Ian and Hamish are blending together more. Ian is learning to live with what he did years ago. This story was fantastic also. The things that men do in a war and have to live with afterward. I received an ebook copy of this through eidelweiss for a fair and honest opinion that have given of my own free will.

 
Popular Fiction

On the eve of the bloody Battle of the Somme, a group of English officers having a last drink before returning to the Front make a promise to each other: if they survive the battle ahead–and make it through the war–they will meet in Paris a year after the fighting ends. They will celebrate their good fortune by racing motorcars they beg, borrow, or own from Paris to Nice.In November 1919, the officers all meet as planned, and though their motorcars are not designed for racing, they set out for Nice. But a serious mishap mars the reunion. In the mountains just north of their destination, two vehicles are nearly run off the road, and one man is badly injured. No one knows–or will admit to knowing–which driver was at the wheel of the rogue motorcar.Back in England one year later, during a heavy rainstorm, a driver loses control on a twisting road and is killed in the crash. Was it an accident due to the hazardous conditions? Or premeditated murder? Is the crash connected in some way to the unfortunate events in the mountains above Nice the year before? The dead driver wasn’t in France–although the motorcar he drove was. If it was foul play, was it a case of mistaken identity? Or was the dead man the intended victim after all?Investigating this perplexing case, Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge discovers that the truth is elusive–and that the villages on the South Downs, where the accident happened, are adept at keeping secrets, frustrating his search. Determined to remain in the shadows this faceless killer is willing to strike again to stop Rutledge from finding him. This time, the victim he chooses is a child, and it will take all of Rutledge’s skill to stop him before an innocent young life is sacrificed.

Redeeming Grace by Jill Eileen Smith

This was a wonderful biblical fiction story. I did not want to put this book down. I loved Naomi and Ruth. Naomi and Ruth had many trials to overcome in their lives. Jill Eileen Smith put true life to these people from the Bible. Can Ruth be redeemed? I received this book from the author for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
When famine visits Bethlehem, Boaz holds out hope for rain while his relative Elimelech moves his wife Naomi and their sons to Moab. For a while, it appears the Lord is blessing Elimelech’s family, and his sons marry two lovely Moabite women. But calamities strike, one after another, leaving Naomi alone in a foreign land with only her childless daughters-in-law for comfort. When news reaches Naomi that the famine in Bethlehem has lifted, only Ruth will hazard the journey to her mother-in-law’s homeland. Destitute and downhearted, Naomi resigns herself to a life of bitter poverty, but Ruth holds out hope for a better future. And Boaz may be the one God has chosen to provide it.

Fatal Option by Chris Beakey

This was a great read. There were so many twists and turns. It is hard to imagine that one decision can ruin your life. You always want to help your family but it is sometimes not the correct thing to do. I enjoyed this story. I received this book from Smith publicity for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
A tragic accident. A family in crisis. And a killer watching every move. Five months after the mysterious death of his wife, Stephen Porter is pulled from a dreamless sleep by a midnight phone call. His 17-year-old daughter Sara is stranded in a blizzard near the top of a mountain beyond their suburban home. She’s terrified and unable to stop crying as she begs him to come to her rescue. Unfortunately Stephen went to bed just an hour before after a night of binge drinking. With his blurred vision and unsteady balance he knows it s dangerously irresponsible to get behind the wheel. But he heads out into the snowstorm to bring Sara home. High school teacher Kieran O Shea is also behind the wheel, searching for his autistic younger brother Aidan, who is wandering aimlessly through the storm on that same mountain. Kieran is terrified of the voices in his mind, that Aidan will be taken from him, and that he may soon be arrested for murdering three women. In a matter of minutes Stephen will encounter Kieran and drive headlong into a collision that will force him to unlock the secret of his wife s death, avoid prosecution, and protect his children from violence that hits all too close to home.”